Wallet Syscoin 4.0.1 Questions

Hi, I have the following syscoin wallet: 4.0.1. I’m not sure how to use it (I forgot), but I set it up with the help of the Sys team last June when Bittrex was about to boot me because I am a New York resident. All of my sys is in there, and I do not want to lose them! I just got a new laptop, so before I trade in my old laptop I have two questions:

1. Are my sys still safe in the Wallet 4.0.1? Do I need to upgrade?
  2. Are there any special precautions I need to take when I back up my old laptop and migrate that material to the new laptop? Both of my laptops are Macbooks.

Thanks so much.

Yes your Syscoin is safe. You will need to update to a new wallet eventually before you can transact with it again, but it’s safe the way it is. You always want backups of your wallet.dat file as that gives you access to your funds and can be moved between devices. If you don’t have copies of that file and your computer breaks you will lose your funds.

If you are getting a new laptop you would just need to download the latest wallet and put a wallet.dat backup into it. But it’s not necessary to move it to your new laptop if you’re not going to be transacting any Syscoin yet. Keeping secure backups on multiple USBs, external hard drives etc is fine.

For Mac it should be located in /Users/[USERNAME]/Library/Application Support/Syscoin/

If you’ve got a masternode you’ll want to backup your masternode.conf file too

What NerZee said.

Also, here’s a walk-through for upgrading your wallet:

Thanks so much. I emailed you and Bradly, but I just noticed that it’s a no reply email.
Anyway, it doesn’t look like I have a “wallet.dat” file. When I go to my Syscoin folder, I have six things under “bin” that look like executable files:

• syscoin-cli

• syscoin-qt

• syscoin-tx

• syscoin-wallet

• syscoind

• test_syscoin